Stivers 1924 Football Team

The 1924 Stivers football team was probably the best ever.  They went through their eleven game season without a loss for the third straight year and claimed the National Championship.  The Tigers outscored their opponents 385 to 20 and finished with a 49 to 0 crushing of arch rival Steele.

They did have two close games with Toledo Scott and Knoxville, TN.  Toledo Scott had a very tough and highly ranked team that year and fought the Tigers to a 7-7 tie.  Stivers won the Knoxville game by a 7-6 score in what was reported to be a “sea of mud’.  A Chattanooga newspaper said the game was not nearly as close as the score would indicate.  The Tigers marched down the field numerous times without scoring due to fumbles in the terrible conditions.

1924 Season Recap

Stivers 52 vs Columbus Trade 0

Stivers 49 vs Bluffton 0

Stivers 27 vs Columbus North 0

Stivers 36 vs Hamilton 0

Stivers 60 vs Roosevelt 0

Stivers 7 vs Toledo Scott 7

Stivers 12 vs Springfield 0

Stivers 45 vs Chicago LaGrange 6

Stivers 41 vs Detroit Southeast 7

Stivers 7 v Knoxville, TN 6

Stivers 49 vs Steele 0

Coach – Harry Wilhelm

Team Roster – Seymour Ramby, Horace English, Carl Wetzel, John Garwood, Joe Cox, George Supensky,                                        Robert Schell, Daniel Sammons, Richard Worst, John Gabler, Joe Supensky, Laverne Reboullet,                              Herbert Schear, William Gitman, Emmett Tidd, Clifford Evans, Kenneth Stiles, Howard Lehman,                              Patrick Duffy, Clarence Shuey, Ray Otto, Harold Kinzig, Howard Stewart, Arthur Snyder, Mark                                  Haag, Dickson Burrows, Meredith Haines, Raymond Devaney, George Rike, Joe Snyder, Eldon                                Marquardt, Earl Dietrick, Daniel Boles and Theodore Yates.

Many of the above went on to play football and/or basketball for major colleges.

Ray Otto, quarterback and captain, was named Outstanding Player of the Year by the Dayton Daily News.

Leave a Reply